ACOE Councillors are full time specialists practising in the field of oncology and all recognised for their experience in education and expertise in their field.

Each Councillor works on an entirely voluntary basis without remuneration and for the prestige of taking up this role.

The Council is unique in its composition and in its suitability to evaluate European multidisciplinary activities.


Composition 2020
  • Maarten Albersen – Oncologic Urology
  • Nicolò Matteo Luca Battisti – Medical Oncologist focusing on geriatric oncology, breast cancer and lung cancer
  • Kim Benstead – Radiation Oncology
  • Tom Boterberg – Paediatric Radiation Oncologist
  • Giuseppe Curigliano – Clinical Oncologist, expert in Early Drug Development and in Breast Cancer
  • Thomas Helmberger – Radiology, Neuro-Radiology and Nuclear Medicine
  • Alexandru Eniu  – Medical Oncologist at department of breast tumours
  • Wolfgang Thasler – Surgical Oncologist

ACOE is a multidisciplinary European body of experts representative of the complete spectrum of oncology health carers from all over Europe.